First Review!

I sent out the ARCs (Advanced Reviewer Copies) of Wyrd Calling at the weekend and I got my first review back earlier!

A quick book review! I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy of Wyrd Calling by +Shen Hart . You can’t find this for sale yet, but when it goes up, you may want to get a copy!

Do you enjoy reading books with shallow characters and a barely realized setting? If that’s the case… don’t pick this up. This thing goes deep. From the very beginning, it’s clear that both the characters and the world have been given considerable thought. I read the book and knew that we had just barely skimmed the surface of what there was to see. The main character is not a shallow bimbo or a straw dummy used to advance a story. She is someone with a long, complicated history and an actual personality. We get glimpses of her past as the story unfolds, but we don’t need to have everything spelled out. You don’t get your hand held with the cliché “history of everything told by a third party”. You experience the story and touch its history as you go along. The relationships between the characters are just as deep and intricate as the world is. The people in the world (Is “people” the right word? You’ll see what I mean!) don’t all have the same voice (something new writers seem to have a problem with), wants, skills, or personalities. They aren’t just static pieces that dance to the author’s tune (Dance, my pretties!). They grow and change and the entire experience is better for it. I don’t want to give away the story, but it’s a magical adventure from the very first word and leaves you crying out for more.

This genre (urban fantasy) is not my usual fare, but I’m almost sad I’m reading the book now. If I was reading this a few years from now I could keep reading the next books, which is exactly what I want to do!

Benjamin Beaulieu

To say I’m happy is a huge understatement! I am grinning like a Cheshire cat and bouncing around like a fool. To see people enjoying my work is an absolutely incredible feeling.

I have thanked them a number of times before but I have to do it again – thank you to all of my advanced reviewers, you’re all absolute stars and godsends.

Shen.

One thought on “First Review!

  1. […] You can read the first one I received from Benjamin Beaulieu here. […]

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave a reply.

